William Doonan

I write books and stories.

The Mummies of Blogspace9: Chapter Twenty-Three

leave a comment »

June 29, 2011
Seville, Spain
Hanson       http://www.historyismine.blogspace9.ex

IS SHE OK???

Leon, please tell me Kim is going to be OK.  How much blood are we talking about?  If she can still stand and still laugh, then can I assume her injuries are not life threatening?  Or is this something more? Leon, please tell me she’s OK.  This is Kim we’re talking about – my friend, your friend. 

Can we maybe also ask some of the other contributors to this blog to provide some input, you know, maybe some of you who have some experience with this sort of thing?  Please?

June 29, 2011
Lima, Peru
Cavalcante          http://www.diggirl.blogspace9.ex

Bruce, it’s Laney.  I’m in Lima at the moment.  I just met with a senior consul at the American Embassy.  They’re not sure what to make of the story I told them, but they’re sending someone up to have a look at Kim.  If she’s injured, they’ll medevac her toLima, or to Miami if needed.

Bruce, please keep it together.  I know you’re scared.  We’ve all been through a lot, but we’re going to be OK.  Kim will be fine.  You’ll be fine.  We’ll be fine.  We’re going to be together, Bruce.  You have to trust me.

As for Blogspace9, I have some questions too.  Leon is right – it is starting to look like nobody has access to our blog, and that was not our understanding of how this was going to work.  Still, they have given us quite a bit of funding.

In any case, Bruce, please turn yourself in.  Go to the Embassy or go to the police.  You’ll at least be safe.  I can’t stand the thought of anything happening to you.

June 29, 2011
Seville, Spain
Cuellar    http://www.perdido.blogspace9.ex

Is she going to be OK?  Young Bruce, is that your question?  A scientist you call yourself, and you yet ask?  Those creatures drained the blood from her body, and let it seep down below the floor where it pools, fueling the dark part of eternity, animating and populating half our dreams.  No, she’s not going to be OK.  The hunger will start soon.

Oh, she’ll walk.  She’ll speak, which is more than can be said for you.  The storms are gathering, Bruce.  He’s coming for you.  Sopay knows your name.  He can smell your breath.  He’ll send someone for you.

I implore you, as I have before, take your own life before it is too late, before you come face to face with what you fear most.  Go to the police?  Go to the embassy?  They’d deliver you to Sopay within minutes.  He’ll burn your life away from you, and then things will really start going downhill.  Understand, you’re the only thing left in the world who can hurt him.

He’s sending someone for you now, someone who knows you, someone you trust. You must be stopped, you understand.  If you find that book, all will be lost.  That’s why your girl wants you to turn yourself in.  She’s been his for a long time now. 

June 29, 2011
New York, NY
Duran                   http://www.harqubusier.blogspace9.ex

It would seem Vasco is off his meds again.  Cuellar, please consider a sedative of some potency.  You do tend to rant.  The boy is asking for help.  One would hope that wisdom acquired over the centuries could be brought to bear on the events at hand.  But one wonders how much wisdom you have accumulated, Vasco.

That being said, young man, Cuellar is not completely without reason.  When that girl was bled, fuel was added to a fire that burns in the unquiet heart of a torment.  I don’t understand what that torment is.  Evil is it?  Some conception of hell?  I don’t know.  I understand only that I am part of it, as is Cuellar.  I know he felt her blood drain away because I felt it too.

So no, she’s not going to be OK.  Unless of course you consider me OK, or Vasco Cuellar.   Cuellar is an insane cannibal given to gloomy grandiosity.  And I am a soulless ghoul living in a skyscraper.  A hunger is growing in me, and I spend much of each day trying to keep it at bay. 

I had thought the last of the sopays was long gone, but I’m no longer certain.  If one still exists, then Vasco is correct – your life is at danger.  And no stone will be left unturned until you are delivered to him.  Your girl is almost certainly his.  She’ll come for you.  It has to be her.  It will be someone you trust who comes for you.

You could kill yourself as Vasco suggests.  It would certainly save you the heartache, not to mention millennia of soulless anguish.  Your torture will be ceaseless.  On the other hand, you could find what you’re looking for and kill the Sopay instead. 

If there is more to be learned about Sebastiano, if there is a Malleus Momias, then the Sopay is right to fear you.  You might just save the entire world from him. 

June 29, 2011
Seville, Spain
Hanson        http://www.historyismine.blogspace9.ex

Bullshit.  Lane isn’t part of this.  She’s not some demon hag, and she doesn’t want me to get hurt.  I don’t know what or who I’m up against, but I am not without my own certainties about the world.  And I am certain that Lane loves me.

So fuck you, Vasco.  I’m not going to kill myself.  I’m going to finish this, and finish you off as well when the time comes.

And fuck you too, Duran.  You’re just as crazy, even if you won’t admit it.  LANE ISN’T PART OF THIS.  

I’m going to finish this.  You know what I’m doing right now?  I’m sitting in my bedroom fishing through stolen wallets to plan out who I will be over the coming days.  Then I’m going to figure out what the Archivo Rota is.  I’m going to figure out what exactly Malleus Momias is.  Then I’m going to kill this Sopay.

Hold on, there’s a knock at the door, at the bedroom door.  Folks, that’s a little odd, because I share a room with two middle-aged pickpockets, and they don’t knock.  OK, I just shouted out for whoever it is to come in. 

Holy shit.  It’s Cyrus!  Cyrus Sanderson in the flesh.  Hey boss, am I glad to see you!

Written by williamdoonan

April 14, 2012 at 4:03 pm

Leave a Reply

